Akwa United maintained their dominance in the Akwa Ibom State FA Cup competition as they cruised to their 14th title following a 4-1 empathetic win over FC One Rocket in Uyo on Monday.

The Promise Keepers made an attacking start to the game and deservedly took the lead through defender Abbey Benson in the 19th minute before Uche Collins doubled their advantage seven minutes later.

The NNL side reduced the deficit through Imamu Bala in the 29th minute before Cyril Olisema made it 3-1 for Akwa United ten minutes before half time as they went into the break with a healthy lead.

The NNL side stepped up their performance in the second half and created some good scoring chances but were kept at bay by resolute defending and some brilliant saves from goalkeeper Jean Efala.

With the resumption of the second stanza of the 2022-23 NPFL season in mind, coach Ayodeji Ayeni made some changes to his side and introduced Moses Effiong, Etim Mathew, Oghenetega Ebemomate, Osimaga Duke, Ikechukwu Nwani and Abdulsalam Saheed into the game but it was speedster Wisdom Fernando who put the game beyond the NNL team deep in stoppage time as Akwa United retain their crown in style.

Akwa United who have won the national Federation Cup in 2015 and 2017 will be aiming for their third Federation Cup crown in 9 years while FC One Rocket will be making their debut at the national level as they will be representing Akwa Ibom State in the national Federation Cup competition scheduled to kick off later in the year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *