Akwa United Football Club will begin their 2022-2023 Nigeria Professional Football League season with a home fixture against newly promoted Insurance of Benin on Sunday, January 8, 2023 at the Nest of Champions in Uyo and it will be broadcast live to television viewers.

At the draws conducted by the league organizers, the Interim Management Committee IMC in Abuja, Wednesday, the 2021 champions Akwa United were drawn in Group A alongside two former champions Enyimba International and Plateau United as well as two newly promoted sides Insurance of Benin and Elkanemi Warriors of Maiduguri for the new season.

Other teams in Group A are, Remo Stars, Nasarawa United, Kwara United, Gombe United, and Shooting Stars Sports Club.

The league organizers had earlier informed that the 2022-23 NPFL season will be played in an abridged format to ensure the country’s premier league calendar is in line with CAF football calendar.

Clubs in Group B are the reigning champions Rivers United, 2016 champions Enugu Rangers, Dakkada FC, Wikki Tourists, Sunshine Stars, Niger Tornadoes, Abia Warriors, Lobi Stars and newly promoted Bayelsa United and Doma FC.

Akwa United’s first Round matches

Matchday 1: Akwa United Vs Insurance

Matchday 2: Enyimba Vs Akwa United

Matchday 3: Nasarawa United Vs Akwa United

Matchday 4: Akwa United Vs Plateau United

Matchday 5: Kwara United Vs Akwa United

Matchday 6: Akwa United Vs Remo Stars

Matchday 7: El Kanemi Vs Akwa United

Matchday 8: Akwa United Vs Gombe United

Matchday 9: Shooting Stars Vs Akwa United

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *